Vintage Spike Status Thread

Decided to start looking at this place again after my OG Streaks started getting on their last legs. Looks like the spike threads here are still pretty active and I assume there are a lot of new faces here. I used to post here a lot under the runthenight profile but forgot the login info.

I’ve been collecting for about 10 years now and started noticing some issues with some of my older spikes. Regardless of the condition of them, it appears as though time has taken its toll on the glue for many of them. I would love to use this thread as a way to catalog vintage spike issues so that others will know which are still fine to race in and which are best left as collectors items.

I’ll start with the Zoom Kennedy’s (whites). This is mainly where I’ve seen this issue. I had the plate completely come off already just from flexing my foot in them. Yellow Kenns have survived, even with two xc races in them this year. Colorado’s seem to be okay as well.

Nike Jasari - Had my teammate race indoor with them a year or so ago. Still fine.

Nike Eldoret II- Raced indoor in them last weekend. Still solid.

I’m convinced it may just be the construction of that Kennedy plate that leads itself to the plate coming unstuck. Any other spikes you’ve seen this happen to?

My Jasari’s are pulling apart in a few different places, but they’ve been handed down through three different runners (counting myself), so I’m not sure it’s fair to expect much more from them.

My OG spotted Ventulus are in great shape and I’ll pop them out for workouts every season or so.

I guess this is something to note, but the sock liner in the og vics on some pairs are beginning to separate

This happened on all my pairs after one race :frowning:

Rip. The og og colorways seem to really be the troublesome ones. I also feel like some of the tumbos too but I can’t rmembwr if that happened to mine