Sub-9?

Do we have the talent to get one or more below 9 minutes for 3200m this year? What about two miles?

I think the talent is there… but it takes the perfect combination to run that perfect race. The competition, the race strategy, the weather, the health. Can’t wait to see though!

The only two that I could see doing it are Meister and Sandvold

So no Michael Christianson who had the second fastest time in the state last year? Dude ran a 9:16, even paced throughout, solo.

You have to understand I’m from Illinois so I have no knowledge other than what Dyestat gives me. I’m trying to look from an objective point of view, and to me, Sandvold’s 4:12 speed, and Meister’s 4:13/1:52 lead me to believe that they have more upside at a greater distance such as the 3200, not to mention they were both closer in time to Christianson.

Also, Christianson being in D2 hurts him because his competition will definitely not be as stiff

I definitely think Christianson is capable of a sub 9:10 this year but I think he’s had a few setbacks. Not that John Vodacek is BAD–he is clearly very good–but him beating Christianson was kind of a surprise. What’s the latest on Christianson? Did he have solid training over the winter?

I’m guessing since last year he peaked very early and never got much better (the mile at WTFA), maybe their trying a new approach in his training where he punched in the miles and is now working on speed…who knows

Is there any truth to this?

he had a good winter of training, and there maybe some tweeks in the training, but as far as losing that race, he is still recovering from a bad sinus infection that he had during indoors

Christianson ran 9:26 at the K of C meet at UW-L on Saturday.

I think Russ Sandvold is sub-9 material after watching him put Chandler Diffee away in the last 200m on Friday night. He bettered Alex Grill’s meet record. Brill went on to race 9:02 at the state meet and had he raced in the off-season I believe he would have broken 9 too.