Need some advice

I’m a freshman in college and I didn’t make my school’s xc team in the fall when I tried to walk on due to Title IX but the coach encouraged me to try out for indoor track and keep training. I did for about a week and then started seeing my grades so I decided to let running go for a while and focus on getting my school work under control. Now I miss the sport and running but I’m having trouble getting back into it. I loved my time off because it was the first time I actually had more then a few days off since freshman year of high school. Now I miss running and racing and all the good stuff that comes with it but I can’t seem to ease back into running again. Does anyone have any ideas on how to slowly get back into running so I can train hard for next years xc team and hopefully make it as a walk on?

Everyday just force yourself into a routine where you run either in the morning, afternoon, or when ever you can. It’s important not to break the routine because if you do once, you will most likely do it again. Just go out for an hour at a comfortable pace and keep doing this until you feel you can go a bit faster (like the kenyan’s do. like a progression type run).

The most important part is just getting out the door. Just tell yourself your going for an easy run and if your feeling good then put in a harder workout. I train on my own in college and I find getting out the door is the hardest part, once you do that the rest is easy (relatively…)

Thanks guys I’m giving it a shot it’s just hard sticking to a routine. Its hard getting back into it when you were used to running 10+ miles in high school as a senior and now you have to start from scratch.

Is there a Track Club or Running Club at your school you can train with for the time being? That’ll give you some motivation to train, people to train with, yet there’s not total commitment. You could train with them until you’re back in enough shape to try the varsity team again.